Err?

I’ve seen lots of people that have been confused by ‘er’. I really wanted to try and explain it.

There are lots of things like that in Asian languages so I’m going to use my minute knowledge of Japanese to try and help explain it.

In Japanese there are add-ons such as ‘sama’ which is formal and can be compared to lady or lord in English.

I’m going to try and use this method with another example first – gēgē. Gēgē is Mandarin Chinese (普通話 / Pǔtōnghuà) for elder brother, but it isn’t reserved for brothers. I would compare it to two Japanese words – aniki and senpai.

Aniki means elder brother. Senpai means senior but it’s also a title for those who are more advanced than you. Similarly, gēge is a word for elder brother and also for those who are comrades, friends and are respected.

Do you understand how I’m explaining these concepts now?

I hope so because I’ll be trying the same method to explain ‘er’. That being said, I’m not too sure if I’m entirely correct. This is based on my observations and I want to stress that. For example, Zhào Líng’er throws a spanner in the works, but I’ll give you my theory.

I’ll start with a Japanese equivalent again. The word ‘chan’ is used mostly for children, babies and young girls (adolescents). It’s a term of endearment which is what I believe ‘er’ to be as well. As I’m not the most knowledgeable on wǔxiá and ancient series I’ll look to Shén Diāo Xiá Lǚ.

Fans of the show will know that Xiǎolóngnǚ refers to the main protagonist as Guò’er. Likewise, Yáng Guò often calls Xiǎolóngnǚ by Lóng’er.

It appears to be used towards people that you know well or are close to. I’ve noticed it mainly in romantic scenarios (I’m such a romantic) but I’ve noticed it elsewhere too (not the best concentration in the world…).

I hope that I’ve explained this well. I do love languages so it would be a shame if I didn’t explain this well.

Thank you!

 download (3)

(Guò’er et Lóng’er)

Err?

 Êtes-vous confus? Je veux pour expliquer ‘er’.

Il y a beaucoup des mots en japonais qui sont similaires. Je vais vous expliquer ‘er’ en comparant avec les japonais! Par exemple, en japonais, le mot ‘sama’ est pour ‘seigneur’ ou ‘dame’. Le mot est formel.

Je veux à expliquer ‘gēgē’ abord. Gēgē est chinois mandarin (普通話 / Pǔtōnghuà) pour grand frère. Cependant, ce n’est pas seulement pour grand frère! Je vais le comparer avec les japonais mots aniki et senpai.

Aniki moyens grand frère. Senpai moyens supérieur. C’est aussi pour une personne plus avancé que vous. De la même façon ‘gēgē’ est pour une personne plus plus avancé que vous, pour camarades, pour amis et pour une personne vous respecte.

Comprenez-vous? Je vais vous expliquer ‘er’ avec cette méthode. Je ne sais pas si j’ai raison. Ceci est basé sur mes observations. Par exemple, Zhào Líng’er est une exception.

Ja vais commencer avec le japonais mot ‘chan’. Le mot ‘chan’ est surtout utilisé pour les enfants, les bébés et les jeunes filles (adolescents). C’est une terme d’affection (je pense…).

Il est courant dans Shén Diāo Xiá Lǚ. Xiǎolóngnǚ appelle le protagoniste Guò’er. De la même façon Guò’er appelle Xiǎolóngnǚ par Lóng’er.

Ce est surtout utilisé entre des personnes proches.

J’espère que j’ai expliqué ce bien. Je fais langages de l’amour. XD

Merci beaucoup!

2 thoughts on “Err?

  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    I think you explained it well. Thank you.

  2. drunkensword says:

    I’m so happy to see that someone is writing about the return of the condor heroes!! It’s my absolute fav series!! And thank you for explaining the meaning of ‘er!

Leave a Reply

