Blade of the Dragon

If I were to be entirely accurate, DragonBlade: The Legend of Lang.

I found it sometime ago on YouTube. The channel has since been sent in to exile and no longer exists. Therefore, no, I shall not be writing an article for the modern horror movie linked to the Western Zodiac creatures. I cannot recall its title.

Please refrain from reminding me of that.

DragonBlade: The Legend of Lang is animated like Qín’s Moon. However, as it was made earlier – the first animated movie – apparently, the quality is not the greatest. If you wouldn’t watch the movie because of that I would be disappointed in you, stranger. I would be terribly disappointed.

In all honesty I chose this movie because it had subtitles in English. It was rare to find the movies on that channel with English subtitles. I was also quite ‘low’ in terms of my health and would have zonked out completely without something to really focus on (reading).

I was unable to bear watching foreign films without subtitles at that point for long.

Now, I know this is a review. I still insist that there should be as few ‘spoilers’ as possible. Thus, I will tell you only the bare minimum. If you take my memory in to consideration, that should not be too terribly difficult. That may be why you should watch the movie and not take my review too seriously.

I would like you to bear in mind that I watched this movie more than six months ago.

I found the beginning to be humorous. I think the two that we – as the audience – are introduced to first are Hóng Liàng and teacher Hú. They are the reason that it had my attention from the moment that it started. I really, really wanted to know where it was going. In a way, I find it quite similar to a scene Kung Fu Panda.

Oh, dear, I hope that doesn’t give you the wrong impression.

After that, the focus shifted a little to two more important people – Yíng Yíng and her brother. He is… He is a rascal, really. He manages to find this strange and wonderful place. There – as with all rascals – he does just go running ahead.

I’m not sure what it is, but wǔxiá really does favour its idiotic men and sensible women.

As I have said before, I don’t want to give away too much.

As such, the premise from there on is the defeat of a ‘monster’ – no, they didn’t call it demon. Well, the summary didn’t.

In order to defeat this monster help is required. It comes in the form of a tournament prize which is revealed by Balǐ Bā. Balǐ Bā is not human. I’m not sure what Balǐ Bā is – as a species or in terms of gender – I’m pretty sure that Balǐ Bā is male. However, so as not to appear like a fool, I will use the name only.

Bali Ba

It’s hard to tell you any more than that without giving away vital points in the movie. However, there is a race against time. There is someone with a bit of an identity problem.

Oh, and mostly importantly, there is a genie!

If you’ve seen Aladdin, forget it. This genie is far superior! He is absolutely amazing. I was bursting a gut when he appeared!

Of course, he wasn’t present for any particularly notable length of time. I can still laugh at the mere thought of him. That should be a good indication of… something…

I do love this movie.

Perhaps it’s a little predictable. I mean, wǔxiá does have a lot of common character traits. You almost always know you can rely on the genre for certain types. Perhaps that’s just mostly Tangren.

Oh, I hate doing this…

I would – if I could – award this movie 4 3/4 out of five stars. You can bet that the genie had a part in that score! He hoisted it up quite a little bit!

So, tell me, have you seen the movie? What are your thoughts? Do you adore it like I do? Do you like the genie?

Thank you for reading. I’ll be starting an episode by episode review soon.

Have a nice day / evening / night / dawn.

One thought on “Blade of the Dragon

  1. I loѵed as much as yoս will receive carried out right ɦere.
    The ѕketch iѕ attractive, your authored subject matter stylish.

    nonethelеss, you command get got an shakinesѕ over that yοu wish be delivering the followiոg.
    unwell unquestionably come further formerly
    again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case
    you shield thіs incгeаse.

Leave a Reply

