Mercy

Mercy

What a stupid dunce am I?

A very stupid one!

This time we’re going to be looking at a few things. It’s quite a few things, actually. It’s otherwise known as so many things that this probably won’t be posted until autumn and so jam-packed that your head will spin right off!

Let’s start with the title. That’s always the best way to start, right?

Okay, I suppose I lied.

It isn’t Mercy.

It’s Misericorde. Rather, it is a misericorde.

The name is derived from the Latin word misericordia which means mercy. Therefore, the misericorde is (intended to be) a weapon of mercy. It was used to deliver the death stroke. By its name, I suppose it’s quite obvious that it was more a euthanasia.

For those of you, who, like me, love languages the word euthanasia is Greek. In Greek is it written as εὐθανασία. That apparently means good death. However, I know very little of the Greek language and I therefore claim no truth to lie in that.

The misericorde could penetrate armour. Which, probably means that it wasn’t solely used for dispatching those with mortal wounds. It did so as it was a light and incredibly thin blade. It was so thin that it could get through chain mail or pierce where the armour was weaker.

I really quite like the misericorde. It looks light, it’s thin, and it’s pretty…

I know. I’m shallow. I’m proud of that. Deal with it.

LaCazadora-5-Misericorde

I took this from a Soul Caliber website. I therefore vouch for nothing in its accuracy. I know not where the image was first attained.

Je suis stupide!

Je suis très stupide!

Nous allons commencer avec le titre. Il n’est pas ‘mercy’. Il est misericorde. Non, en fait, c’est une misericorde.

Le titre est de la langue latine. Le mot est misericordia. La ressemblance est forte. Cela signifie miséricorde.

Une misericorde est une arme de miséricorde. Il a été utilisé pour tuer les personnes blessées. Il était l’euthanasie.

Le mot euthanasie es de la langue grecque. Le mot grec est εὐθανασία. La signification est «bonne mort». Cependant, je ne parle pas grec. Vrai? Faux? Je ne sais pas.

Une misericorde pénètre armure. En tant que tel, il ne s’agissait pas simplement de la miséricorde. C’est parce que une misericorde est légère.

J’aime la misericorde.

Moving on, this time we have another weapon that I love! Yes, that’s right! I can’t even keep to swords which is what this whole article was meant to be about.

Instead we have a Liúxīng Chuí.

That means Meteor Hammer. If that name doesn’t strike fear into your heart then… Well, this one won’t exactly strike fear into your heart. Looking at it, depending on the wielder’s strength, I suppose it could knock someone’s heart out.

Could it?

The Meteor Hammer is a chain weapon. It can be made with rope but I think it looks better when it’s made with metal. I mean, look at one. It’s connected by a metal chain with two (or one) metal balls on either side!

I really love Meteor Hammers.

I’m not talking about the pretty ones. I like them best when they’re rough and ready. I like them because they’re like Nunchaku (and that reference is all you’re getting this time around). They’re also fast weapons.

What I like best about them is that they’re not swords. I’m scared of sharp objects, so…

No!

What I truly love about them is that they require real skill. You can’t just swing one of these about. You’ll take your head clean off depending on the speed and momentum that you reach. There are so many things you can do with them too!

You can smash it against the ground (and possibly someone’s foot). You might be able to make it wrap around something. You can throw it. You can use it like a whip. You can swing it every which way!

That’s why I’m doing this post actually. I love ancient weapons. Modern weapons take skill. Guns, for instance, need someone with decent hand-to-eye co-ordination. I just can’t help but think that the old ones are the best and are the ones require the most skill. I’m not calling people who use modern weapons lazy… I’m just, you know…

300px-Meteor_hammer

This is from Wikipedia. I claim nothing to this image.

Oui, il n’est pas seulement des épées.

Il s’agit – – Liúxīng Chuí. Cela signifie Marteau de Météore. La titre est effrayante, non?

– – Marteau de Météore est une arme de chaîne. Ils sont faits de corde. Ils sont aussi en métal. Le métal est mon préféré. Le métal est merveilleux! Il y a aussi une bille de métal (ou deux).

J’adore – – Marteau de Météore!

Ce sont beaux quand gros et lourd. Ils sont commes nunchaku. – – Marteau de Météore sont rapides.

Compétence est nécessaire. Vous ne pouvez pas simplement utisiler – – Marteau de Météore. Vous devez comprendre quoi vous faites.

Vous pouvez briser objets avec ça. Vous pouvez saisir les choses avec ça. Vous pouvez l’utiliser comme un fouet!

C’est pourquoi. J’adore des ancien armement. Je pense que armement moderne est trop facile à utiliser. Ancien armement besoin plus de compétence.

Number three is the Húdié Shuāng Dāo. It’s otherwise known as the Butterfly Swords.

Before we go any further I want to stress that a Dāo is a Sabre or Broadsword.

A jiàn is a sword. A gùn is a stick / pole / staff. A qīang is a spear. Further detail will be given in a different article. This one is really just focusing on a few weapons as this is the first article of its kind.

I like it because of the name, because it’s pretty and because it takes skill to attack with two swords. Two swords make me think of multiple opponents and, you know, fighting numerous opponents at the same time does require skill…

It’s a really beautiful weapon. It’s also kind of plain. It’s simple but you know they can do a lot of damage.

Also, they remind me of that old tale, Liángshān Bó Yǔ Zhù Yīng Tái. For those that don’t know it’s a folktale called The Butterfly Lovers. I know it’s unrelated. I just can’t help but connect the two. There’s a lot of good, teeth-achingly sweet romantic stories that can go with them!

Oh…

Darn it…

Okay, I think I’ll cut this one short. I just got the urge to start writing something…

220px-Wing_Chun_Hybrid_Blade_Style_Butterfly_Swords

This was also from Wikipedia. I claim nothing to this image. There was mention, however, of Wing Chun. I have a friend who is interested in that. I may post on that style soon.

Did you know about the Butterfly Lovers? That story has made it’s city a sister city to Verona. Yes, it is that big.

La troisième est Le Couteau Papillon. C’est également appelé épée papillon.

Tout d’abord, je tiens à dire que – – Dāo est un sabre ou une épée grande.

– – jiàn est une épée. Le gùn est un bâton. – – qiāng est une lance. Je vais donner plus de détails dans un autre article.

J’aime ça parce que de le nom. C’est aussi assez joli.

Artistic creativity is actually possible to pause. Did you know that? I sure didn’t. Boy, what a lot of time I’ve lost.

I don’t suppose you’re interested in that. Therefore, I will go on. There are many weapons that I love, hence the article, but few more so than ones like the Harpē.

Oh my…

That is gorgeous.

It has connections with ancient Greek and Latin sources. Unfortunately, it’s mostly mythological sources…

I find that there aren’t many places to look for information. This is one of the few times that I curse the world of gaming. I do admit that, for all purposes and intentions, that the harpē is perfect for them. There really isn’t a good depiction of it. There are lots of images by many different people. They aren’t all the same. It’s perfect for twisting to your game’s needs.

Now you just have to learn to satisfy us weapon fanatics.

The harpē is often considered to be a combination between a sword and a sickle.

Is that not amazing? Tell me that is not amazing. It absolutely is. I am shoving open-mindedness out of the window. That is absolutely fantastic and there is no such existence of a counter argument.

No image, sorry. I think it is rather plain as to why, however.

Talwar. I adore that sword.

You can tell by its name that it isn’t Chinese. It’s around India in terms of geographical… something.

It’s a really beautiful sword. I always have this sense of awe for it. It, well, the ones that I’ve seen, have always got a semi-ornate hilt. It makes a shape similar to the letter D. Sometimes the D shape is complete and sometimes the D shape is open. I think the rounded, thinner side to the hilt is used as a knuckle guard. However, I don’t have much knowledge with knuckle guards…

However, if not all talwar possess that sort of hilt, and even if they do, what distinguishes them from other swords of a similar nature? Well, for one, they are curved blades. Secondly, as it draws closer to the tip, the blade widens a fraction before coming in to a point.

I doubt you’d appreciate that piece of information much if it were being thrust in your direction, however.

75px-Talwar_Hindú_SXVII

Again, the image was sourced from Wikipedia and I make no claim to it.

 Now, for my… Well, to be quite honest, I love all of the ones I’ve included. I wouldn’t have included them otherwise, now would I? This one, however, is really quite special to me. It’s one that I’m sure we’ve all heard of. At least, we know the sport, right?

Yes, it’s a rapier.

I tried to take lessons in the use of one. However, I was unable to pursue fencing for health reasons. It’s the only sword that I’ve ever been able to train in thus far. I can tell you that it is absolutely lovely. Of course, as a student, I had to use of plastic… That, nonetheless, was an experience of absolute beauty.

A rapier is, of course, a thrusting weapon. To slice with it wouldn’t be as easy as with a broader sword. The blade, though I don’t doubt its strength, is probably too thin to easily slice with as well. Against far larger, heavier and denser weapons or obstacles I think its slimness would prove to be a weakness.

At one time, apparently, as there was little in the way of defence, the wielders of a rapier would also have a dagger for blocking oncoming attacks. That, of course, as I have plainly said before, is something that I admire greatly.

I’m not going to provide an image for a rapier. If I did there would be too many. Why? The hilts are all designed to protect the hand. As such, the designs are varied and I think too many are beautiful for my own good.

I really, really like the rapier. It’s not just because of my own personal connection with it. The rapier has been around for such a long time and it seems to be beloved and quite precious. It’s even in Shakespeare!

Well, I think that’s it.

I really wanted to do those two. However, though I don’t know much, I might just give them an article of their own. Yes, I think I will! Yes, definitely.

I know I’ve not included a lot of weapons. I’ve done that on purpose. I could have been stuck here writing twenty per article, but I’m not going to make you wait longer than necessary.

Thank you for reading!

Author’s Note: I originally began this article last year. In fact, I started it on the 21st of August and it had been on my mind for a long time before that.

I want to say, I have not added any further French to this article though my skills have grown significantly. I made that choice as I am not content with my level of knowledge. I intend to pursue it further before re-introducing it to this blog. I will re-introduce to this blog because I’ll recently acquired an interest in manfra and I’ll be in Paris at the end of this month for my birthday (book spree at Fnac!). I am still hoping to acquire ‘Les Contes du Boudoir Hanté’ and review that in French to ‘fully’ end the language’s first term of use here. There will also be an English review for that.

Again, thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

