Gǔ Jiàn – The Art of

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love Gǔ Jiàn.

I love Gǔ Jiàn to the moon and back. I love Gǔ Jiàn to the depths of the oceans. I love Gǔ Jiàn to the boundaries of creation. I love Gǔ Jiàn with the depth of a sincere and whole heart. I love Gǔ Jiàn, and I did then, I do now, I will in the future. I love Gǔ Jiàn eternally.

I am also devastated by its art books, albeit both in different ways.

Do not fret. This is a review. There is no (negative) ranting here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the first of the art books.

Go and buy one.

This is the second art book that I have ever bought and the second that I have ever owned. My first was for the Xian Jiàn 5 Prequel -my love for art books began with that. I was enraptured, captivated and stunned. However, I had skimmed through the pages of a Howl’s Moving Castle art book prior to owning either. I have since bought the art book for Gǔ Jiàn 2, the art book for Xuān Yuán Jiàn Lù. I even badgered my mum to hunt down the Deluxe Edition Bravely Default for my birthday (partly) for the art book.

The art book for Gǔ Jiàn, I believe, is the best that you will ever find.

There is a section with play-by-play of certain scenes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Each and every single character (I think) is highlighted – the designs of those you can interact with, those you can control, NPCs, bosses, demons, enemies, allies, animals and five images (per character) of extra outfits!

So, you know, I could totally go and make that Xiǎo Lóng Nǚ look-alike’s ensemble! Or the carp lady’s!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are lots of scenes and places and backdrops.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are tons of large images of the weapons!

Prop making here I come!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As a Cosplayer, this art book is my greatest dream come true! Look at it! The black and white images give so much gorgeous detail!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are a few pages of their chibi versions! They are so cute~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look! There’s even some original art!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love that one.

They even gave me a CD. I’ve not played it yet, no… After all, I could damage it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All in all, as I have previously said, this is the greatest and the best art book that I have ever been blessed enough to own. In fact, it’s so hard to believe that there’s a better one in existence! Except… maybe Gǔ Jiàn 二?

images (3)

No!!!

Gǔ Jiàn 二 is the despicable joke that just…

Well, firstly, there’s the paper. You’d think it was just another ordinary bit of paper. Nu-uh. Do you guys remember the feel of newspapers? Yeah, it’s kind of like that. If you don’t remember, then… It was kind of… sticky? It wasn’t a good quality kind of paper. Where the first was a beautiful, wonderful gorgeous masterpiece, this is a horrible, horrible… thing.

So let’s just get this over with.

In all fairness, it looks like it gets off to a good start. It does, doesn’t it?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is not a prelude to awesome sketches. This is a warning sign. These two pages don’t have the words inked on them, no, but they are saying “go back!

So, you know, take heed because what is this?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

No. No.

This is not what you promised me!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Neither is this!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

An actual image from the game! I feel so blessed that you would share this with me, book!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

You’re a walk through, aren’t you?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are the images of their various different outfits. The depth, the quality, the sketches, the sketches of possible ideas…

My, the Fates can be so cruel…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Is it weird that until this point I still had hope that this was an art book?

Yeah, well, I was still deluding myself for another forty or ninety or somethin’ pages yet…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’d really, really rather not tell you exactly how excited I got when I came across this. I mean, yeah, there wasn’t even a quarter of the pages left to go and I still… believed.

There was one really quite good thing about this though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

These are interviews with the staff (I believe). If nothing else, it looks really good.

I mean, I can’t read Chinese, like, at all. I also really dislike Simplified, but this looks… good.

So, it turns out that I made a huge order (because I might as well go for a big haul if I’m gonna order from China) because, more than anything else, I wanted a Gǔ Jiàn 二 art book, and in the end I was disappointed all around. Well, no, the books that I can’t read are pretty… awesome. – they’re Xiān Jiàn – but, yeah, disappointed.

I went to about seven different websites of this product. I used more than one translator. They all said ‘art book’.

It’s been months, but the disappointment is still raw…

Wait!

Wait…

No.

No.

I must be mistaken.

No.

have to be mistaken.

Is that…?

[=O

Okay. Okay. Can I cry now?

Like, I’ve literally eleven days to go until I’m in Běijīng. Can I buy this from… a shop? Like, a book shop, or a game shop, or something, or…

Excuse me while I go and hyperventilate and cry and scream and be jump-up-and-down-kind-of-crazy and grin like a maniac and so totally not not apologise for my absence because this is just whoo~~~

3 thoughts on “Gǔ Jiàn – The Art of

  1. drunkensword says:

    wow that Gǔ Jiàn art book looks amazing : D

  2. Lunna says:

    how can i buy a copy of this artbook if you don’t live in china?

    • Hi, Lunna!
      I got both of the books from the website Cart100. It’s aTaoBao agent and is a really good company. It works much like Amazon – there being various stores working with the website, Unfortunately, I only buy from two of the sellers on the website and neither of them have the Gǔ Jiàn art book (the first one) in stock anymore. Though there are many other stores working with Cart100 that could still stock them.
      One of the stores that I use does have the art book for the second game (found in the emoticon link at the bottom of the article), if that interests you.
      You can buy it here:
      http://www.cart100.com/Product/38497675556/Second_hair_genuine_rain_blood_prequel_m/
      If you click on the tab labelled ‘description’ you can get a closer look at the inside. I haven’t got the book myself, but it does look a tad different from the first.

      However, you might want to be aware that the shipment company that they use sometimes causes some trouble. I live in Scotland, and each time that I order something I’ve been caught out and the customs team have searched through my order. This sometimes adds to extra payment before I can actually get my order.
      I’m not sure how the company is treated in other countries.
      There are a few other TaoBao agents that you can check out, though having never them myself, I don’t know how they are.
      Here is a list of some of TaoBao’s agents: http://taobao-agents-list.com/category/taobao-agents-list/
      I hope that this helps you.

Leave a Reply

