Mandarin Music Spotlight

SaaraAalto_front-1024x919

Saara Aalto, born May 2nd, 1987, is a Finnish singer-songwriter and runner up in the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest. She has released four albums to date, one being in Mandarin – Aì de Zhù Fú (Blessed With Love). The tracks included are translations of nine of her previously released songs such as Letting Go (我心慢慢沉) and You Had My Heart (受伤的心).

Her Chinese name is Xuě Lán (雪兰).

Of all the possible singers to write an article on, why Saara Aalto?

Saara Aalto is a gifted singer, who is fluent in not only Finnish (arguably half Estonian, too), but also English, Mandarin and Japanese. In fact, the song for which she is probably most well known is ‘Blessed With Love’ is available in English, Mandarin and Japanese.

There have been a few singers on my radar that have branched off into other languages. Mandarin isn’t all that common a language to find an artist (that I try to keep up with, anyway) recording in. However, it isn’t just for the novelty. Saara Aalto is a very beautiful singer, in my opinion, especially when singing in Mandarin. Her pronunciation is very clear and accurate. She has undoubtedly put an awful lot of work into her language learning.


Aì de Zhù Fú

Pīnyīn lyrics

Tāmen shuō xiànshí cánkù
Shuō wǒ yǐjīng mí le lù
Zhèyàng de shēngyīn zǒng zài ěr biān huíxiǎng

Dàn wǒ bù guǎn
Wǒ bù zàihù
Yīnwèi yǒu nǐ wǒ jiù mǎnzú
Wǒ bù zàihù yīnwèi wǒ yǒu aì de zhù fú

Shēnghuó xiǎng ràng wǒ qū fú
Shìtú ràng wǒ shībài wéi nú
Xiǎng ràng wǒ gǎnjué bù pèi yōngyǒu zhè yīqiè

Dàn wǒ bù guǎn
Wǒ bù zàihù
Yīnwèi yǒu nǐ wǒ jiù mǎnzú
Wǒ bù zàihù yīnwèi wǒ yǒu aì de zhù fú
Wǒ bù zàihù yīnwèi wǒ yǒu aì de zhù fú
Aì de zhù fú

Jiùsuàn yíqiè dōu gūfù le wǒ
Wǒ yě bú zàihù

Shēnghuó xiǎng ràng wǒ qū fú
Xiǎng ràng wǒ shībài wéi nú
Dàn wǒ bù guǎn
Wǒ bù zàihù
Yīnwèi yǒu nǐ wǒ jiù mǎnzú
Wǒ bù zàihù yīnwèi wǒ yǒu aì de zhù fú

Dàn wǒ bù guǎn
Wǒ bù zàihù
Yīnwèi yǒu nǐ wǒ jiù mǎnzú
Wǒ bù zàihù yīnwèi wǒ yǒu aì de zhù fú
Aì de zhù fú
Aì de zhù fú

English lyrics

Times are hard they say, they say I’ve lost my way
They whisper and they shout some things I shouldn’t hear

But I don’t mind, and I don’t care
‘Cause I have you and that’s enough
I don’t mind, ’cause I am blessed with love
I don’t mind, ’cause I am blessed with love

They try to break me down, they can try to make me fail
Or try to make me feel like I’m not worth it all

But I don’t mind, and I don’t care
‘Cause I have you and that’s enough
I don’t mind, ’cause I am blessed with love
I don’t mind, ’cause I am blessed with love
Love, love

And even if the world would turn it’s back on me
Oh I, I don’t mind

They try to break me down, they can try to make me fail

But I don’t mind, and I don’t care
‘Cause I have you and that’s enough
I don’t mind, ’cause I am blessed with love

I don’t mind, and I don’t care
‘Cause I have you and that’s enough
I don’t mind, ’cause I am blessed with love
Love, love, love, love

Leave a Reply

