Xian Jiàn 六 – More Characters!

We have new characters!

Unfortunately, I’m having difficulty picking their names out of the text. Therefore, this time I’m going to give what I think their names are and why I’m having difficulty with them. As usual, I will also link to the gnn.gamer web-page for those who are more proficient than me to look over.

Xian Jiàn 六 - Character

I believe that her name is Míng Tòu (明綉). However, though probably an error in translation, a later passage does include a phrase that translates roughly to “Rosa dressed…”. The ‘Rosa’ being Luó Shā (羅莎).

Her character poem is as follows:

簷外夭桃映素書 落花逐水數沉浮
參商畫影輕回顧 明月凝光染碧朱

Find out more about her here.

Another new character is Jū Shí Fāng (居十方) and his partner Jī Shòu (機獸), the translation that I’ve found for which is Zoids. An appropriate, if a little unimaginative, name, if correct.

Xian Jiàn 六 - Character I

His character poem is as follows:

塵客天涯猶咫尺 睡覺方醒漭滄深
恍然飛雁倏忽去 長以華年敬故人

Find out more about them here.

The YouTube channel also released this video. It’s of two previously announced characters, and, like the other recently released Xian Jiàn 六 videos it’s just to showcase what they will look like in-game.


We have a slightly better idea of the direction that this game is going in now. What do you think of it?

Personally, I’m not too sure what to think of this new revelation. I do have a fondness for steampunk and, of course, for fantasy wǔxiá. This could be a blend of both. It could work brilliantly. This is just not what I’d expect from a Xian Jiàn game. That being said, the Xian Jiàn games have been accused of following a similar thread from thread to game. Adding and subtracting elements and concepts could definitely propel it forward into a new age and into greater success.

However, I’m not entirely sure what to think of it as part of the Xian Jiàn series. Taking a steampunk-esque style and combining with fantasy wǔxiá is a bold enough concept to be made into its own series. Also, despite knowing the liberties that Tangren takes with its RPG game adaptations, I can’t help but to compare it to Xuān Yuán Sword and that worries me. Both game series were made by Softstar and the implications that merging their products concepts is a cause for concern. Both game series are great, but they were made separate for a reason. Unless there’s a Smash Bros-esque mash-up game, I’m not exactly sure that I want a cross-over to occur.

Excuse the cliché, but time will tell. Until the game comes out I’ll try and put my concerns on the back-burner. At the very least I’m assured that the art books will be gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

