The Ultimate Questionnaire!

I saw this on the ever awesome WuxiaEdge and thought it looked so cool. Having been away so long from blogging, and so off-topic in recent articles, I thought ‘what better way to get back into the swing of things?‘. So here we are!

1. What Wuxia and Ancient Series have you seen? If you’ve seen too many to type out here, link to any list you may have.

Fully watched: Chinese Paladin, Bù Bù Jīng Xīn,

Part watched: Chinese Paladin 3, The Lotus Lantern 2000, Xuān Yuán Sword: Scar of Sky, Treasure Venture, The Legend of the Condor Heroes (2008), Return of the Condor Heroes (2006), Demi-Gods and Semi-Devils (2003), Lán Líng Wáng, Dream of the Red Chamber

I’m sorry. I have nothing against those series. My mind just wanders and there are too many episodes to marathon in one go!

2. Out of those, which ones would you consider favorites?

Chinese Paladin, Bù Bù Jīng Xīn, Return of the Condor Heroes (2006)

3. What was the first series you ever watched and what was your first impression?

My first series was Chinese Paladin. At first, I thought it was the pinnacle of perfection and beauty and so cute! Then they all, well, spoilers.

4. In what year would you say you became a Wuxia fan?

I would say that it was when I started watching Chinese Paladin. I can’t remember the year – maybe 2013? – but it was then. In fact, it was after the theme song, with present day Xiāo Yáo and his aunt.

5. Do you read novels/manhua as well as watch the series?

Yes! Illegally, unfortunately. I can’t read Chinese very well yet so I rely on fansubs but I keep the names in a list so that I can go and look for actual copies to buy someday.

I do, however, own three Xiān Jiàn novels and one Gǔ Jiàn novel. I like to flick through them from time to time. They are gorgeous.

6. What genre usually interests you the most?

Fantasy. Fantasy tends to have it all – action, magic, adventure, awesome otp’s and lovable rag-tag groups of miscreants.

7. What genres would you like see more made?

Mythical ‘historical’ fantasy. Give me a pretty historical setting, add in snippets of actual historic facts, fantastical costumes and magic / mythological creatures and I will be putty in your pocket. And you will probably have all of my money.

8. For your personal enjoyment, what do you think is the most important factor in Wuxia?

What I really like about wǔxiá are the xiá and their code of conduct. To me, those kinds of values are great to watch play out. They’re like superheroes, but without the filler episodes where they mope over their vows not to kill their enemies. I know it’s not always true, but I like that they do good with what they can. Even if it means killing.

9. If Ancient Chinese Series were ever dubbed, how would you react?

I’d be happy that there’s another way for non-Mandarin speakers to access it though I wouldn’t personally have any investment in it though. Live action dubs can be pretty distracting, for one, and wǔxiá / ancient series dubs tend to have a distinct sound. I’m not sure if that would be transferrable to another language, but it would be cool if someone tried.

10. Who are some of your favorite Actors?

Líu Yìfēi. Hú Gē. Fàn Bīngbīng. Yáng Mì. Ariel Lín.

11. Who are some of your favorite Voice Actors?

Ji Guanlin. Li Ye. Shen Lei.

12. Which series had the best acting/voice acting?

I really enjoyed Chinese Paladin. I thought that the voices really suited each of the characters.

13. What would cause you to dislike a series?

It doesn’t make me ‘dislike’ the series, but it makes it a lot less enjoyable for me – shoddy special effects.

I feel like if I look at special effects and know immediately that they’ve been used, it’s jarring. To me, magical energy should blend in seamlessly with everything around it and animals should look realistic. In the case of wǔxiá, it’s oftentimes painfully obvious that they’re an added effect and it really pulls me out of the moment.

14. Do you ever try to get people interested? If so, what kind of success have you had?

I sometimes go crazy on Tumblr and flood my followers’ dashboards with series, but that’s about it. I would like to get mum involved. It’s nice to sit with her and watch series, but her comments of ‘school of over-acting’ and ‘oh, it’s that genre’ are disheartening. So, no, unfortunately. Not really. No one I know is particularly fond of subtitles…

15. Who are your most favorite characters?

Xiǎolóngnǚ. Líng’er.

Táng Yù. Xú Chángqīng.

There’s just something about sticklers for the rules, but who love with all of their hearts (even breaking the rules for their loves).

16. What kind of villains get on your most worst side?

If I had to choose, I’d say villains who want to destroy the world. It’s a pretty douche-bagey thing to want, nevermind actually trying to do it. If the villain is human, even more so! Like, where do you think you’re going to go? What do you think’s going to happen when you’re the last one left?

17. Who are your favorite “non-human”(animal-like) characters?

Does Huáng Shèngyī’s white snake count?

 

I really like her. She was a good demon with a big heart.

And the green snake, too, actually. She was really cute and mischievous.

18. What are some ways you express your series fandom? (going to conventions, blogging, reading fanfiction, etc)

Not so much now, but I used to spend a lot of time writing fanfiction. Mainly it’s just browsing through Tumblr and reblogging though I also cosplay. So far I’ve only chosen characters from the Xiān Jiàn and Gǔ Jiàn games, but there are a few pretty drama costumes I’d really like to try and re-create.

19. What kinds of products do you usually buy?

I buy Xiān Jiàn and Gǔ Jiàn deluxe game boxes. I can’t play the games, but they’re really good value and you get a lot of cards, bookmarks, CD’s and stuff with them. I also like art books and books.

20. What are some of your favorite songs and soundtracks?

adore Hú Gē’s I Won’t Become A Hero – because who else would you get to sing that? Seriously.

I’m partial to loops of Promise from Sorcerer and the White Snake.

My favourite soundtrack would be the Gǔ Jiàn II game soundtrack. I bought a collector’s edition CD thing and there are four CD’s in it. I swear, they are all absolutely gorgeous. Stunning. One of my best buys.

21. What pairings/shippings do you like?

I think I like all of the Chinese Paladin pairings, but my favourite is definitely Xiāoyáo / Líng’ér. They were both so sweet together and wanted the best for one another even though neither were particularly good at being together.

That being said, I’m partial to some Xiāoyáo / Yuèrú though it’s wicked hard to find game ‘verse fanvids of them.

Chángqīng and Zǐxuān have a special place in my heart. They were portrayed so beautifully on the series. And their love is so strong. And they keep finding their way back to one another.

I like angst. If a pairing has angst then I’m probably going to ship it on some level.

23. What is your favorite quote?

Massacre is never the reason to become strong. This word “xia” reads “chivalrous hero”. If a person must defeat another in order to prove themselves, they’ve already lost. The right part of this word reads “human”. It represents the actions and behaviours of a person. And on the right, the word reads “carry”. It is made up of a big “human” with two little “humans”. What it means is that a strong person should help those who are small and frail

– Gě Niè

24. What are your favorite Wuxia movies?

Is this strictly wǔxiá or do I get wiggle room?

I love The Four movies (not actually four movies), House of Flying DaggersKung Fu Panda (Western animation), Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame.

25. What other media-related hobbies besides series do you have? (video games, Animation, etc)

lovelovelove video games. Especially Dragon Age.

And anime. So much anime.

26. What is your most favorite series of all, and why is it your favorite?

I’ve not seen that many series to the end yet, or I’ve missed episodes in-between, but I think it has to be Chinese Paladin. There’s a certain nostalgia to it for me and it’s a really fun series to watch (SPOILERS: it’s fun to watch until they all die).

27. What are some series you haven’t watched but want to someday?

The Classic of Mountains and SeasThe Gods, Border Town ProdigalWuxin: The Monster KillerHuā Qiān’Gǔ, Princess Jiěyōu, Legend of Mǐ Yuè and The Tomb!

Leave a Reply

